雨果·席德
花粉

8 十二月 - 13 一月 2019
中国上海
杜梦堂(上海)年底收官展览将带来最新代理的法国艺术家雨果·席德(Ugo Schildge)的个展“花粉”,此次也是这位毕业于巴黎美院的欧洲新秀在亚洲的首个展览,所有展出作品均是艺术家在上海驻地期间完成的最新创作。“花粉”旨在通过艺术家寓言式的记叙重新审视“授粉”这个生态体系中的重要环节,进而切实感受人类发展与自然生态的紧密关系,关注普世生命的生存状态。

基于对图像和运动之间关系的研究,艺术家对齿轮—这一突出机械力量的工业革命标志产生了浓厚的兴趣。席德将其作为重塑图像来源的机制,并进一步挖掘齿轮作为画面主体的潜力,在这些实践中,艺术家逐渐发展出自身凌驾于架上创作的独特语言。

在近期的创作中,席德重新投入到特定主题的具象表达中,将那些曾经用于组成齿轮的图形与线条释放到对自然与人文的追求中探索新的可能。在“花粉”中,艺术家创造了一个自然资源极度匮乏的平行世界,人类也终日为农作物的收获而绞尽脑汁,在这样的场景中,我们得以重新认识到蜜蜂(和其他传粉者)和授粉的重要性。展览构成了一部生命的交响曲,蜜蜂,花朵,人类以及所有伴随着人类发展的事物都是一系列相互关联的事件,每一件作品都是一个引人入胜的章节。

此次展览不仅在视觉与理念上做了充分的思考,艺术家还对每件作品的主体进行了深入挖掘。在《兄弟与蜜蜂》中,两个孩子代表着无性别的纯洁与本真,而蜜蜂则长久以来被看作是重生与智慧的象征。《莲花》的古老内涵由来已久,是对纯真境界的最高想往。它既是花朵又是果实,寓意着因与果的相依共存。而展览标题“花粉”则包含了最重要的隐喻:既象征了生命的传播和物种的延续,更隐含了对性难以抗拒、无法控制的渴望。

材料也是席德作品中的核心元素,此次更巧妙的将蜂窝纸芯融入部分作品的视觉表达,为作品带来了独特的色彩组合和丰富的层次感。以天然色粉、黏土、木材和石膏为主要创作材料,席德质疑传统的作品形式,模糊绘画和雕塑,画布和媒介,控制和自由之间的界限。作品的“绘画性”——色彩、笔触和质感——则是通过每种材料的独特属性和材料间的碰撞来实现的。这种碰撞往往难以预计,充满了不确定性,但这并没有成为艺术家的障碍,他通过对材料的把控,将事物置于平衡的考验之中。

“花粉”敲响了人类发展的警钟,更明确了传粉者(以及其他被我们忽视的重要生态组成)的重要性以及人与自然的真实关系,但最重要的是,它邀请观者进入由席德创作的寓言狂想曲,通过自己的理解和想象丰富它、续写它。
媒体报道

UGO SCHILDGE
POLLEN

8 December - 13 January 2019
Shanghai, China
Galerie Dumonteil Shanghai is very pleased to present Pollen, the solo exhibition of the gallery’s newly represented artist Ugo Schildge (b.1987), marking this emerging European artist’s debut in Asia. Featuring Schildge’s most recent works created during his two-month residency in Shanghai, Pollen encourages us to give a second look at the process of pollination — one crucial link in the entire ecosystem, and further examines human’s close rapport with nature through the artist’s allegoric narratives.

Initiated from the research on the articulation between image and movement, the artist has grown a key interest on cogwheel — a strong Industrial Revolution symbol highlighting the power of mechanics. While exploring the mechanism of cogwheels to reinvent the source of the image, and their potential as the subject of an image, the artist has developed his unique language on wood panel.

Recently, Schildge re-engages himself in focused themes and figurative representations, setting the shapes and lines in cogwheels free to dig into new possibilities in nature and humanity. In Pollen, the artist assumes a parallel world devoid of natural resources resulting in human’s struggle with food crop productions, a scenario that allows us to rediscover the importance of bees (and other pollinators) and pollination. Each work here is a captivating chapter of a grand symphony of life in which the bees, the flowers, human beings and everything that developed alongside humans are all an interconnected series of events.

Both visually and conceptually rich, the subjects of each work are also extensively exploited in the exhibition. In Brothers with Bees, the brothers are children, still asexual and chaste, just like the bees that have long been regarded as a symbol of resurrection and wisdom, while the dog stands for fidelity and support. In Lotus, the fact that the lotus is at the same time flower and fruit embodies the simultaneity of the cause and the effect within the existence. Nevertheless, the most important metaphor lies in the exhibition title — pollen embodies the spread of life and the continuity of species, as well as the irresistible and uncontrollable sexual desire.

The material is also a central element in Schildge’s work, among which honeycomb cardboard has been tactically integrated into the visual expression, rendering the work with a unique color palette and sense of layering. Working mainly with natural pigments, clay, wood and plaster, Schildge questions the traditional form of a work, blurring the border between painting and sculpture, canvas and media, control and freedom. Painterly-ness — the qualities of color, stroke, and texture — is achieved through the characteristics of each medium and their interaction with each other. The interaction is always uncertain and surprising, far from being an obstacle, the artist grasps it, to put the matter to the test of equilibrium.

Much more than a wake-up call for human development, Pollen puts the pollinators (and other overlooked crucial elements of our environment) into perspective, and highlights the true relationship between man and nature, but most of all, it invites the viewers into Schildge’s allegorical fantasy and completes it with their own imagination.
press