作品

艺术家生平

苔丝·杜蒙 (Tess Dumon,生于1990年) 早年在法国赛夫尔工作室进修后移居伦敦,在中央圣马丁学院进行雕塑研究,随后在皇家艺术学院获得艺术硕士学位,并在毕业秀中获奖。2014年获得了Born Award一等奖,该奖项以设计为主导关注可取性,功能性和整体性的创意生活方式。继在巴黎成功举办首次个展后,她的作品还曾展出于PAD艺术与设计博览会、英国皇家赛马会(Royal Ascot)和浪琴表马术大师赛(Longines Masters),佳士得Paris Tout P’tits慈善拍卖,莱佛士皇家巴黎梦索酒店等。

Tess Dumon的作品涵盖了不同的媒介,包括绘画,雕塑,动画和装置等。她善于通过神话式的隐喻和个人的梦想世界,将她生活周遭的悲喜剧故事转化为在作品中深埋的线索,通过制作气场强大的场域,试图将观众置于作品的核心,令其忘却世俗世界。
背景故事
困于无从得知患有自闭症的弟弟癫痫的病因,苔丝·杜蒙从小就转向神话、隐喻和传说寻求答案。她试图通过这些故事探讨存在主义的问题,从人类的诞生到地震的发生等等。

在艺术深造的过程中,她开始创造属于自己的神话,包括运用她的弟弟在心理治疗中用过的马疗法,手工制作的独特蓝色颜料和诗歌等元素。

杜蒙尝试将观众置于艺术创作的中心,将观看的行为本身转化为一种表演。

用于创作雕塑的金属完美反射的光线赋予了她的动物一种幽灵般的浮游感。这由光线的魔法产生的错觉与作品本身戏剧性的涵义和经由艺术家亲手造型的粗粝材料产生了强烈的对比。

杜蒙已于巴黎成功地举办了第一次个展,她的作品还曾展出于PAD艺术与设计博览会、英国皇家赛马会(Royal Ascot)和浪琴表马术大师赛(Longines Masters)等。目前这位年轻的艺术家正为她将在上海举办的个展做着准备,并持续追求着新的挑战与分享她的作品和其背后故事的机会。

简历

教育背景
2009-2010 法国赛夫尔工作室,基础课程
2010-2014 伦敦中央圣马丁学院,纯艺术,取得一等学位
2014-2016 英国皇家艺术学院MA,信息体验设计,取得一等学位

获奖
2014 Born.com Award,一等奖
2014 伦敦中央圣马丁学院,杰出奖
2016 英国皇家艺术学院,最佳论文,一等奖

个展
2019 “Tess Dumon”, 杜梦堂,上海 (即将)
2018 “En Plein Coeur”,杜梦堂,巴黎

群展
2019 PAD伦敦 (即将)
2019 第二届Paname双年展 (Biennale de Paname,即将)
2019 Royal Monceau酒店艺术空间,巴黎 (即将)
2019 《马》- PAD 巴黎
2019 PAD日内瓦
2018 “Shark” - UNDR Globe Collective, 巴黎
2017 “Système Hédonique (Dopamine)”,第一届Paname双年展 (Biennale de Paname)
2017 “Take Shelter”,圣埃蒂安国际设计双年展 (Biennale International design Saint Etienne)
2016 “Take Shelter”,英国皇家艺术学院毕业作品展
2014 “Stabat Mater”,伦敦中央圣马丁学院毕业作品展

特殊委托
2019 “Mare and its Foal”,巴黎艾弗尔马术障碍赛 (浪琴表马术大师赛Longines Masters)
2015 “Charm Spirit”,英国皇家赛马会

相关展览

2019.11.02 – 2019.12.29
Shanghai, China
2018.12.07 – 2019.01.20
法国巴黎

ARTWORKS

BIOGRAPHY

After training at the atelier of Sèvres in Paris, young talented artist Tess Dumon(b.1990) moved to London for pursuing sculpture studies in Central Saint Martins and finished her MA in Royal College of Art where she won the prize of Degree Show in 2016. In 2014 won the first prize of Born Award which celebrates creativity in design-led lifestyle with a focus on desirability, functionality, and integrity. Following successful solo shows in Paris and Shanghai, Dumon’s work has been featured in main events such as PAD Art Fairs, Shanghai Westbund Art & Design Fair, Royal Ascot, Longines Masters, Christie’s Paris Tout P'tits Charity Sale, and a special exhibition at Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris, etc.

Tess Dumon’s work evolves on different mediums that include drawing, sculpture, animation, and installations. She aims to transform the tragic and dramatic history of the life around her into the hints concealing in her works through mythical metaphors and a personal dream world. Tess Dumon tries to place the audience in the heart of her work to experience the atmosphere which can be so powerful that people forget the mundane world. 
STORY
Having no clue about the origins of the illness of her brother with autism, Tess Dumon turned herself towards myths, symbols, and legends, at a very young age. As a matter of fact, they aim to answer all kinds of existential questions, from the birth of Mankind to the existence of earthquakes.

During her artistic studies, she started to create her very own mythology, including horses from her brother’s horse therapy sessions, handmade unique blue paint, poems...

Dumon tries to place the viewer at the heart of her work, aiming to transform the act of seeing into a performance itself.

The metal used in her sculptures reflects perfectly any incoming ray of light, giving her animals the appearance of ghosts floating in the air. The magic resulting from these lighting effects contrasts with the dramatic meaning of her work and the roughness of the material she sculpts by hands.

After a successful first solo show in Paris and the presence of her work in main events such as PAD Art Fairs, Royal Ascot, Longines Masters, etc., the young artist is preparing her next show, which will take place in Shanghai. Dumon is always seeking new challenges and opportunities to share her work and her story.

CURRICULUM VITAE

EDUCATION
2009-2010 Foundation course at Atelier de Sèvres in Paris
2010-2014 BA fine art at Central Saint Martins London with first class honor
2014-2016 MA Information Experience Design at Royal College of Art London with first class honor

PRIZES
2014 Born.com Award, first prize
2014 Central Saint Martin prize for excellence
2016 1st Prize for best thesis at Royal College of Art

SOLO EXHIBITIONS
2019 ‘Tess Dumon’, Galerie Dumonteil Shanghai (upcoming)
2018 ‘En Plein Coeur’, Galerie Dumonteil Paris

GROUP EXHIBITIONS
2019 PAD London (upcoming)
2019 Biennale de Paname II (upcoming)
2019 Royal Monceau Exposition (upcoming)
2019 ‘Horse’ - PAD Paris
2019 PAD Geneva
2018 ‘Shark’ - UNDR Globe Collective- Paris
2017 ‘Système Hédonique (Dopamine)’ – 1st Biennale de Paname
2017 ‘Take Shelter’ at Biennale International du design in Saint-Etienne
2016 ‘Take Shelter’ - Degree show art Royal College London
2014 ‘Stabat Mater’- Degree show at Central Saint Martins London

SPECIAL COMMISSIONS
2015 ‘Charm Spirit’ for Royal Ascot
2019 ‘Mare and its Foal’ for the Paris Eiffel Jumping Tour ( Longines Masters )

EXHIBITIONS

2019.11.02 – 2019.12.29
Shanghai, China
2018.12.07 – 2019.01.20
Paris, France