黎潮典
湄公河往事

2019/03/09 - 2019/04/30
中国上海
杜梦堂荣幸呈现越南艺术家黎潮典(Lê Triều Điển, 1943年出生)个展“湄公河往事”,此次展览将通过十二件代表性作品,呈现艺术家十多年来的绘画创作。自1968年第一次举办个展以来,黎潮典从未停止过用绘画来分享他的故事,通过其独特的叙事语汇和源于情感的表达诉说个人生活的起伏和湄公河三角洲地区生命的兴衰。

黎潮典的家乡槟椥省(Bến Tre)位于湄公河入海口附近,河渠资源丰富,是组成西南三角洲的越南12省之一。尽管殖民和长年的战乱 在艺术家心中留下了难愈的伤痕,但他更希望在画布上留下自己最珍贵的记忆——湄公河平原绚丽的自然风貌和当地真挚的风土人情:密集的河网,无际的稻田,飘香的果园,勤劳的村民,流传的歌谣和别具特色的庙宇、市集……

然而,当黎潮典将这一切转化为自己的语言,他的作品像用几何图形和奇特标志组成的迷宫般难以捉摸。这一方面是由于每件作品都是以多个画面重叠的方式呈现,这恰恰还原了久远记忆在我们脑海中的闪现方式——某个特定的画面、人物、物件或细节总是会最先从无数模糊而零散的场景中浮现。另一方面,艺术家独特的叙事手法中有各式几何图形:箭头、三角、圆圈、螺旋等等,其中有些图形代表了具体的物件,如三角形既可以是笠帽,也可以是传统建筑房屋的屋顶。而奇特的标志则是来自不同文化的古代字符,包括越族,高棉族和其他世代居住在这片土地上的少数民族。尽管大多数符号的含义早已无人知晓,但它们在南部地区的日常生活中却渗透得很好,从石壁的篆刻、宗教建筑的纹饰到纪念品的图案都有所体现。在这些符号的背后,艺术家的真正意图始终是探索自己的主观感受,从而超越场景写实达到直抒情感的抽象。

对黎潮典而言,回忆不仅激发了他的创作,更滋养了他的内心世界。他希望能通过绘画邀请“过去”进入他的“现在”,既是缅怀,也是和解,从而拥抱那份包含着爱与苦难、以及昔日荣耀的过去。在看似如孩童简笔画般的线条和明亮色彩中,艺术家为画面注入了丰富的文化历史元素,做到了色彩和层次的平衡,并赋予其时间的维度。正如黎潮典对符号的使用,作品的颜色和线条也并非出于对美的追求,而是为了忠实记录其内心活动。例如,湄公河平原的冲积色总是出现在黎潮典的作品中,虽然历经沧桑,但这些美好的色彩却从未在艺术家的心中褪去。

“湄公河往事”不仅是以个人视角对湄公河平原展开的叙述,更是一系列激发我们个人回忆和经历的情感纽带。由鲜艳色彩和丰富韵律构成的画作宛如一部令人着迷的回忆录,吸引着观众去静心感受。

黎潮典(1943年出生于越南槟椥省)曾就读于胡志明市Phu Tho理工学院。他目前仍在胡志明市创作生活,其作品曾多次展出于胡志明市美术馆,以及中国、马来西亚、新加坡、日本、法国和美国等地的美术馆和画廊。
媒体报道

LE TRIEU DIEN
Reminiscences of the Mekong River

2019/03/09 - 2019/04/30
Shanghai, China
Galerie Dumonteil is pleased to present “Reminiscences of the Mekong River”, the solo exhibition of Vietnamese artist Le Trieu Dien (Lê Triều Điển, b.1943), featuring a selection of 12 works from his practices during the last two decades. Ever since his first solo show in 1968, the artist has never ceased to share his stories on canvas, recalling the ups and downs in his life as well as the Mekong Delta through his unique narratives that adhere to his feelings and emotions.

Ben Tre Province, Le Trieu Dien’s hometown, is one of the 12 provinces that comprise the region in southwestern Vietnam where the Mekong River approaches and empties into the sea through a network of distributaries. Although the colonial period and decades of war have left the artist with unhealed wounds, more often than not, the artist chooses to recall his most precious memory on canvas—the beautiful lively scenery of the Mekong River, and a cornucopia of local culture and customs: crisscrossed rivers, boundless rice fields, fragrant orchards, hardworking villagers, local temples, markets and folk songs…

Le’s work, however, looks more like a labyrinth made of geometry symbols and unrecognizable signs, as the artist has translated everything into his own language. On one hand, each painting is an assemblage of multiple images overlaid in the way that memory does — a specific person, object or detail emerges first from the blurry background of other scenes. On the other hand, Le’s narrative is characterized by forms of arrows, triangles, circles, spirals, etc., some of which are representations of real objects; triangle, for examples, can be a nón lá (Vietnamese Conical Hat) or the roof of a traditional house. The unrecognizable signs are ancient symbols from various cultures including the Viet, the Khmer and other minority groups that also share this piece of land for centuries. Though the meaning of most symbols has long been lost, they have penetrated well in the daily life of the southern area, visible from the writing on mountain cliffs to the motifs on religious architectures or tourist souvenirs. Behind all these, the true intention of Le Trieu Dien is to search his own honest expression that passes beyond mere representation and reaches an abstraction of direct emotions.

To Le, memories inspire his creativity and nourish his inner world, and through painting, he can invite the past to rejoin him and become part of his present, not only as reminiscences but also a reconciliation that enables him to embrace love, suffering, and glory from the past. Through the deceivingly childlike stick figures and bright colors, Le embeds a rich context of culture and history into the picture, while achieving a balance of color and layering, and rendering it the dimension of time. Same as the use of symbols, Le’s colors and lines are never meant to be beautiful, but to faithfully recall the movement of his consciousness. For instance, the rich color combinations of the alluvial plain always find their way to appear in Le’s work as they have made such an imprint on his heart despite the vicissitudes of fortune.

“Reminiscences of the Mekong River” is not only a personal narrative of the past but also a strand of emotions that resonate our own experiences and memories. Interwoven by vibrant colors and dynamic rhythms, Le’s paintings are enchanting memoirs meant to be introduced to any audience group that enjoys a good story.

Le Trieu Dien (b.1943, Ben Tre Province, Vietnam) studied at the Phu Tho Polytechnic College in Ho Chi Minh City. He still works in the city and his work has been featured frequently in exhibitions at the Ho Chi Minh Fine Art Museum, also international museums and galleries in China, Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, France, and the US.
press