布鲁诺·加丹纳 Bruno GADENNE
海之苍穹 Saltwater Skies

2024/07/06 - 2024/09/07
DUMONTEIL Shanghai
上海市衡山路199号永平里105栋
杜梦堂(上海)欣然呈现法国艺术家布鲁诺·加丹纳(Bruno GADENNE)个展「海之苍穹」,展出其在东南亚海域背包旅行三个月后最新创作的海底景观系列绘画作品。这是艺术家在杜梦堂的第二次个展。加丹纳以其丛林景观作品而闻名,此次他通过诗意的叙事聚焦野性的水下世界,邀请我们探索海洋的隐秘深处,感受其美丽与脆弱。
23/11/23, 菲律宾坦巴龙岛
Tambaron Island, Philippines

当你浮潜时,阳光会改变一切。紫色、绿色和黄色变得格外耀眼,光彩夺目。
布鲁诺·加丹纳,《旅行日记》
此次展览邀请我们近距离观察汪洋之下的一切。

布鲁诺·加丹纳在过去15年里一直描绘着原始丛林的风景,这让他觉得有必要通过改变历经的风景实现自我挑战。去年冬天,他花了三个月的时间,背着帐篷、砍刀和一些美术用品,环游南海(从菲律宾到柬埔寨,途经越南)。

他获得了潜水执照,这为他打开了通往新世界和新风景的大门:一个由珊瑚、碧蓝海水、鱼类、海龟和海葵组成的水下王国。

加丹纳用潜水素描本和彩色铅笔在浮潜时画了一些水下素描,但主要是通过拍摄大量照片和视频,为这一系列作品建立了个人数据库。
03/02/2024, 柬埔寨达基辅岛
Koh Ta Kiev, Cambodia

我向大海深处游了20分钟,远离海滩,发现了一些奇妙的珊瑚和令人难以置信的海葵丛!一些小丑鱼(体型较大,红褐色,白色背线)在它们的触手中栖息。
布鲁诺·加丹纳,《旅行日记》
回到工作室后,加丹纳通常会在绘画前对照片进行大量修改,改变光线、颜色和构图,但这次他发现:在水下拍摄的照片已经具有他希望通过作品实现的某种“不可思议”。朦胧的蓝调背景带着一丝诡异,为这一系列景观营造出强烈的层次感。尽管如此,这仍是一个极具挑战性的系列,因为他必须使用全新的色调,并以某种方式简化珊瑚结构的无穷细节。他希望同时呈现水的密度和超现实的色彩。

此次展览还展出了一系列油性粉彩画:对艺术家而言,这是在水下绘制的彩色铅笔素描和在工作室进行的油画创作之间的良好平衡,让他能够更加随心所欲地呈现这个沉浸世界的不同色彩和质感,玩味色调和饱和度的对比,并在看似杂乱无章的岩石和珊瑚丛中寻找有趣的构图。
03/02/2024, 菲律宾加莱拉港
Puerto Galera, Philippines

第一次在珊瑚礁中游泳,这里几乎完全白化了。在灰色的骸骨中,我确实看到了一些蓝绿色的海参——这个海湾(或者我该称之为墓地)中唯一的生命迹象。
布鲁诺·加丹纳,《旅行日记》
从玻利维亚科迪勒拉的矿山到婆罗洲被烧毁的森林,在加丹纳的旅行中,他亲眼目睹了人类社会对自然景观及其居民(包括我们自身)造成的破坏。他非常关注这些问题。在过去的 30 年里,我们失去了世界上 50%的珊瑚。
我们需要树木吗?我们需要森林吗?我们需要珊瑚礁吗?还是我们可以生活在所有这一切的灰烬中?。
2017年纪录片《追逐珊瑚》
布鲁诺·加丹纳的作品是基于其真实的生活经历,但他并不是一名纪实画家。不过,他觉得自己有责任通过作品展现、分享目前尚存原始景观的美丽和奇迹。他意识到:由于很少有画家涉及水下景观这个主题,我们缺失了关于海景的艺术想象。他希望自己此次的新系列能够改变这个现状。我们亟需一种新的叙事方式,一种关注野生世界的诗意叙事。

一个天空由海水构成的世界。
press

Bruno GADENNE
Saltwater Skies

2024/07/06 - 2024/09/07
DUMONTEIL Shanghai
Bldg 105, 199 Hengshan Road 200031 Shanghai China
DUMONTEIL Shanghai is delighted to present Saltwater Skies, showcasing French artist Bruno Gadenne’s newly developed pictorial series from his three months backpacking around the waters of Southeast Asia. This is the artist's second solo exhibition with the gallery. The artist, known for his jungle landscapes, now invites viewers to explore the hidden depths of the ocean, its beauty and fragility through his poetic narratives that celebrate the wild underwater world.

23/11/23, Tambaron Island, Philippines The sun changes everything when you're snorkelling. The purples, the greens, the yellows become dazzling, glorious. 
Travel Diary, B.Gadenne
This exhibition is an invitation to take a closer look at what lies beneath the surface of the ocean.

Bruno Gadenne has been painting pristine jungle landscapes for the past 15 years and felt the need to challenge himself with a change of scenery. He spent three months last winter backpacking around the South China Sea (from the Philippines to Cambodia through Vietnam) with his tent, machete, and a few art supplies in his bag.

He obtained his diving license, which opened up the door to a new world and new landscapes: an underwater realm of corals, turquoise waters, fish, turtles, and anemones.
Using a diving sketchbook with plastic pages and coloring pencils, Gadenne did some drawing underwater while snorkeling but mostly took thousands of photographs and videos to create a personal database for this series of paintings.

03/02/24, Koh Ta Kiev, Cambodia
I swam for 20 minutes towards the open sea, far from the beach, to discover some wonderful corals and an incredible field of anemones! A few clown fishes (big ones, maroon with a white dorsal line) take shelter in their tentacles.
Travel Diary, B.Gadenne
Back in the studio, Gadenne usually modifies his pictures quite a lot before painting them, changing the light, colors, and composition. However, he found that the photographs he took underwater already had the uncanny aspect he longs for in his work. A sense of eerie, blurred, and bluish backgrounds helped him create a strong sense of depth in this series of landscapes. This oil painting series was challenging nonetheless, due to the new color palette he had to work with and the infinite level of details in the coral structures, which he had to simplify one way or another. He wanted to render the density of the water and its surreal colors at the same time.

This exhibition also features a series of oil pastel drawings, which Gadenne describes as a great balance between the underwater coloring pencils drawings he did on-site and his oil painting practice in the studio. It allowed him a more spontaneous approach to rendering the different colors and textures of this immersed world, playing with contrasts of hues and saturations and looking for interesting compositions in the chaotic-looking rocks and corals one can find on a reef.
17/11/23, Puerto Galera, Philippines
First swim in the middle of the corals, nearly completely bleached. I do see, among the grey skeletons, a few blue-green sea cucumbers, the only hint of life in this bay, or should I say cemetery.
Travel Diary, B.Gadenne
During his travels, Gadenne witnessed firsthand the devastation of natural landscapes and its inhabitants (our species included) caused by human society, from the mines of the Cordillera in Bolivia to the burnt forests of Borneo. He is very concerned about these issues. In the last 30 years, we have lost 50% of the world's coral. 

Do we need trees? Do we need forests? Do we need coral reefs? Or can we just live in the ashes of all of that ?” 
Chasing Coral, a 2017 documentary 
Gadenne emphasizes that while his work is based on real-life experiences, he is not a documentary painter. He feels a duty, though, to show through his work the beauty and wonders of what's left of the virgin landscapes and to share it with the public. He hopes this new series can begin to change the lack of collective imagery of artistic visions of seascapes. We are in dire need of a new narrative, one that focuses on the poetry of the wild world.

A world where the sky is made of saltwater.
press