装饰艺术之溢彩华章 (下) – 加斯东·隋斯: 漆艺大家

16 十二月 - 10 三月 2018
中国上海
2017年12月16日上海,杜梦堂将首次在中国举办展览“加斯东·隋斯Gaston Suisse: 漆艺大家”。该展作为“装饰艺术之溢彩华章”特展之“下”部,特别呈现最具前瞻精神的法国装饰艺术大师加斯东·隋斯(Gaston Suisse)的一系列作品。

展览将呈现三十八幅艺术家重要的漆画与纸上作品。从动物主题到抽象几何风格,在1937年的世界博览会与国际展览(International Exhibition)上,加斯东·隋斯由此在1930年代奠定了其国际名声与地位。于衡山路199号画廊空间呈现的展览,将追溯这位被后世称为装饰艺术(Art Deco)创始鼻祖的艺术家的整个创作生涯,他那被两次世界大战打下深深烙印的命运变迁;他自巴黎高等装饰艺术学院习得的漆艺技法以及他在技术上的实验与革新;加斯东·隋斯将毕生致力于表现动物世界,并在二十世纪的“动物艺术史”上留下了一个不可磨灭的印记。

二十世纪的艺术充满了颠覆和解构,隋斯并没有像先锋派那样,沉湎于精神上的思辨;他反对为了创新而创新;拒绝一切用新奇代替美感的艺术形式。终其一生,隋斯都在表现大自然,关注其本质;在这一过程中,他形成了自己独有的风格,尽管经常被模仿,但从未被超越。

隋斯既是画家、版画家,也是漆器艺术家,他不知疲倦地勤奋工作,并懂得如何让自己的精湛技艺为创作服务。他的绘画极具表现力,线条的有力和纯净代表了他所追求的美感。而他作为装饰艺术家的才能则在他所创作的家具杰作中大放异彩。

不同于二十世纪30年代众多的艺术家,隋斯并没有在战后就湮没无闻。1975年后,经过一众独具眼光的艺术品商人和艺术爱好者的努力,装饰艺术作品得到重新发现,加斯东·隋斯也得以在艺术舞台上再放异彩。其后,他的作品在世界各的画廊、博物馆以及公共和私人机构中大量展出。1937年,受巴黎现代艺术博物馆(Musée d'art moderne de la ville de Paris)委托创作的巨幅漆画作品,近期借展于美国皮博迪塞勒姆博物馆(Salem-Peabody Essex Museum),并将于2018年在伦敦维多利亚和阿尔伯特博物馆(Victoria and Albert Museum)巡游展出。
媒体报道

Magnificence of Art Deco (II) – GASTON SUISSE: Master of Lacquer

16 December - 10 March 2018
Shanghai, Chine
Shanghai… Beginning December 16, 2017, Galerie Dumonteil will present the exhibition Gaston Suisse: Master of Lacquer, as the second part of Magnificence of Art Deco, devoted to the oeuvres of seminal Art Deco French artist Gaston Suisse (1896-1988) for the first time in China.

On view at the gallery space at 199 Hengshan Road, Gaston Suisse: Master of Lacquer will present thirty-eight important lacquered paintings and drawings from animal theme to abstract and geometric style, that won the artist international recognition in the 1930s at the World’s fair and International Exhibition of 1937. This exhibition traces the evolution of the founding artist of the so-called Art Deco period whose life was imprinted indelibly by two World Wars; who learned lacquering from Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Decoratifs and experimented various innovative techniques; who devoted his life to celebrating the animal world and left a vivid mark in the history of 20th century Animal art.

Indifferent to the upheavals and deconstructions that characterized the art in the 20th century, and far from the fascination of the avant-garde artists due to intellectual speculation and refusing to innovate for the sake of innovation or generally any art where the surprising prevails over the beautiful, Gaston Suisse, throughout his life interpreted nature by focusing on its essential in an incomparable style of his own, which, although often copied, has never been equaled.

An inexhaustable worker and, at the same time, a craftsman, engraver and lacquerer, he managed to use his perfect technique for the service of his art. His drawings express not only power but also a purity of line that, for the artist, canonizes beauty.

Unlike many artist of the 1930s, the works by Gaston Suisse were not completely forgotten during the Post-War period. Rediscovery of the Art Deco’s creations and productions in 1970s, thanks to the efforts of some merchants and visionary forefront of the artistic scene. Since then, numerous exhibitions of his artworks have taken place around the world in galleries, museums, public and private institutions. The monumental work commissioned in 1937 by Museum of Modern Art of the city of Paris, currently loaned to the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, USA, will be housed in the Victoria & Albert Museum in London in 2018.
press