丹尼尔·达维欧
万物有灵

27 五月 - 26 八月 2018
中国上海
值上海空间成立10周年之际,杜梦堂特别呈现国际知名艺术家丹尼尔·达维欧(Daniel Daviau)中国首次大型回顾展“万物有灵”。本次特展将分为两个部分,分别于杜梦堂和西云楼两个空间举行,共展出近四十件不同体量的动物雕塑作品,集中呈现艺术家整个艺术生涯的发展与精湛技艺。杜梦堂呈现三十三件小到中型雕塑作品的同时,作为上海新兴商业休闲中心的西云楼展出六件大型雕塑作品。

动物在艺术史上一直占据着一席之地——从史前拉斯科洞穴生动的单线描绘,到中世纪宗教赋予不同动物的主观预设,再到文艺复兴时期,突破性地以动物为主体展开艺术创作。19世纪以来,法国诞生了多位动物艺术大师,使动物艺术走向了多元化的发展,而一战的爆发揭示了人类空前规模的野蛮和凶残,从而使如Bugatti,Pompon等一众艺术大师进一步打破传统,开始刻画动物的敏感与脆弱,以动物的“人性”对照人类的“兽性”。达维欧在前人的基础上,通过对不同动物个体的深入刻画,以诙谐幽默的方式展现其独特个性,并利用隐藏的人类视角,展现当下人在动物及其生存环境中所扮演的角色,唤起对生态平衡的关注。

杜梦堂展出的中小型雕塑回顾了艺术家近三十年来的创作生涯,从早期作品到特别为此次展览新委任的作品《金丝猴》(Golden snub-nosed monkey, 2018)。此次展览也包含了数件已绝版的中小型雕塑作品、等比例尺寸的大型动物雕塑,以及首次完整展出的艺术家标志性河马系列作品,力求为中国观众呈现最完整的达维欧。

动物,作为创作的主体

丹尼尔·达维欧出生在法国历史名镇萨拉,在多尔多涅河附近的一个农场度过了童年时光。儿时的达维欧身边总是围绕着各种农场动物。这段珍贵的童年回忆教会了达维欧尊重自然环境,与动物和谐相处,这也成为了艺术家的人生准则和艺术实践的指导思想。

在达维欧的雕塑生涯开端,他的创造围绕着自然主义,从一株植物、一块石头、一盆盆景中寻求灵感,再现生活源泉。但他很快就被自己对动物的爱所俘获,自然地转移了其创作重心。达维欧的情感一直从属于动物艺术的悠久传统,从史前拉斯科洞穴到19世纪和20世纪的大师巴里(Barye),布加迪(Bugatti)、桑多斯(Sandoz)、蓬朋(Pompon)、圭佑(Guyot)……同样明确的是,艺术家的创作与解剖学和动物学密切相关,他对动物艺术进行了细致的研究。然而,所有这些都不能很好地解释达维欧动物雕塑中敏感而强烈的原创品质,线条的纯粹和整体的优雅。或许我们可以在作品本身找到一些答案。

创造力与技艺并重

通过作品,我们可以很清晰地感知到艺术家对他的模特们情有独钟,但人们常常会忽视其实这些动物的表情和姿态并非是它们自身的,而是艺术家眼中的。达维欧选择从少有艺术家关注的动物中汲取灵感,如《鸭嘴兽》(Platypus, 2011)、《狐猴》(Lemur and Its Children, 2001)、《狨猴》(Tamarin, 1999)等,同时他采用其标志性的手法去整合动物的体型,并常常用温柔诙谐的神情去展现他们。例如,他希望给《河马》(Hippopotamus, 2010)一个温和、善意的外表,让孩子们想去拥抱它们,而《犀牛》(Rihnoceros, 1993)的眼神则像一个勇士,坚决地抵制着湮灭的命运。《水牛》(American Buffalo, 1995)和《加拿大麋鹿》(Canadian Moose, 1997)都以坚定而无畏的姿态,随时准备面对来自人类和自然日常威胁的挑战。对于热门的动物,只有当他发现在现有的各种版本中很少有他想创作的新姿态时,他才会燃起创作欲望,《萝拉》(Fat Lola, 2014)便是如此——胖乎乎的猫用逗趣的坐姿一脸严肃地注视着观众。

自2010年起,受藏家委托,达维欧拓宽了他的领域,开始创作等比例大型动物雕塑,受到了来自文化基金会、公共领域以及私人收藏的广泛关注。其中,《犀牛》(Rhinoceros, 2010)曾于2011年在上海新天地展出,《加拿大麋鹿》(Canadian Moose, 2015)于同年在香港皇后像广场展出,《长颈鹿》(Giraffe, 2013)为其赢得了当年在卢浮宫颁发的“法国国家美术协会(Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts)金奖”。多件大型雕塑作品在中国被永久收藏,藏家包括上海西云楼、南京德基广场等。

毕业于雕塑专业,达维欧早年曾担任法国雕塑家Haim Kern的助理,在法国顶级青铜铸造厂进行学习实践,是鲜少了解并掌握铜雕制作全部工艺的当代艺术家。对达维欧来说,铜是经过千百年历练的高贵材质,以铜为材质可以让一件雕塑作品超出自身的价值。特别值得指出的是,达维欧同时也是少有掌握铜雕“锈色”工艺的当代艺术家,他利用“锈色”对每件作品进行个性化处理,使每一件雕塑都拥有其独一无二性。正如画廊创始人皮耶·杜梦堂所说:“达维欧对铜雕表面工艺的处理技术在当今难觅对手,这在成品细节及艺术审美往往被忽视的今天显得尤为难能可贵,其限量版青铜雕塑的卓越性体现了艺术家对艺术作品和收藏者的无限尊重。”

万物有灵的诗意世界

“丹尼尔·达维欧作品中的动物充满好奇、温和、不受拘束又憨态可掬,是存在于孩童梦中的动物形象,为我们带来了远方几近遗忘的土地和芬芳。它们以其笃定的永恒性平静地注视着你。每一个动物都是根据其性格特征度身制作,用最为纯粹的方法表现动物的个性。他们的轮廓强烈而清晰,没有任何多余的装饰。法国雕塑家丹尼尔·达维欧为这个星球的生物定义了这样一种独特的个人手法,足以被称为‘达维欧线条’。”

    —— Jacques-Philippe Wapler,FEMS (the Edouard and Maurice Sandoz Foundation) 基金会主席

毋庸置疑,达维欧注重世界的平衡,他的雕塑作品强调人与自然之间的关系,但在艺术家看来,如果他的作品能引起人们对动物和自然的尊重,他感到非常高兴,但这不是他的主要使命,他只是在做自己最想做的事情。然而他的作品却成为了最有力的证词,它们提醒着我们人类和动物之间所建立的联系——我们不仅生活在同一个星球上,更有着相似的灵魂。
视频
媒体报道
September, 2018
+ Life Magazines - A Tale of Animals 精灵之诗
August, 2018
+ Art World - 天性本自然
August, 2018
+ IDEAT - Animal Beauty 万物有灵
25 July, 2018
+ Action Media - 丹尼尔·达维欧“万物有灵” | 杜梦堂
20 July, 2018
+ Figaro - A Tale of Animals 万物有灵的诗意世界
7 July, 2018
+ Shanghai Daily - French Sculptor's Witty Take on Animals
7 June, 2018
+ The Paper - Animal Beauty 万物有灵
30 May, 2018
+ iFeng - 哪来这么萌萌哒的动物雕塑?“万物有灵”的童话梦了解一下!
26 May, 2018
+ Q Daily - 这里展出33个动物雕塑,比如一只松弛的铜猫

DANIEL DAVIAU
ANIMAL BEAUTY

26 May - 29 July 2018
Shanghai, China
Galerie Dumonteil is proud to announce Daniel Daviau — ‘Animal Beauty’, the first major retrospective of the internationally renowned artist in China, also marking the 10th anniversary of the Shanghai gallery. The exhibition takes place in two venues, the gallery space and Xiyunlou, the newly established commercial center in Jiading District, featuring up to 40 dimensionally varied animal sculptures that showcase the artist’s originality and mastery of techniques. Thirty-three non-monumental pieces are presented at the gallery, while six monumental sculptures are exhibited at Xiyunlou. 

Animals have always been an important theme in the history of art — from the vivid single-line depictions of prehistoric Lascaux caves, to the subjective imageries of animals in medieval era, and to the groundbreaking animal-oriented creation during the Renaissance. Since the 19th century, France has been home to many animal art masters who bring new possibilities to the theme. The outbreak of World War I revealed the savagery and brutality of humans in an unprecedented scale, which compels great masters such as Bugatti and Pompon to further break the tradition and start to portray the sensitivity and fragility of animals, contrasting the “humanity” of animals with the "bestiality" of humans. Standing upon the shoulders of the predecessors, Daviau attempts to depict the characteristics of different animals with his unique language and humor. And through the hidden human perspective in the works, he also challenges us to confront the role of people in natural environment and animal survival, raising concerns for a more balanced world.

In an attempt to present the most complete Daviau to the Chinese audience, Part I - Galerie Dumonteil consists of non-monumental works reviewing the artist’s career in the past three decades, from the early works to the most recent Golden snub-nosed monkey (2018) specially dedicated to the Chinese audience, along with several out-of-edition works. Among the six monumental pieces exhibited in Part II - Xiyunlou, the beloved Hippo series including Hippopotamus (2013), Barnaby (2017) and Titipo (2016) will be exhibited as a complete series for the very first time.

Why Animals?

Daniel Daviau was born in Sarlat, a historical city in Southwest France, and brought up on a farm near Dordogne River where little Daviau was surrounded by various kinds of farm animals. All these village experience taught Daviau the valuable lesson of respecting the natural environment, which later became his life motto and the guidance to his art practice.

At the beginning of his sculpting career, Daviau’s works revolved around naturalism, seeking inspiration from a plant, a stone, a potted bonsai, and reproducing the source of life. Not long afterwards he was captured by his own passion for animals, and naturally shifted his focus area. Daviau’s emotions have always been subordinate to a long tradition of animal art, from the prehistorical Lascaux Caves to the masters in the 19th and 20th centuries: Barye, Bugatti, Sandoz, Pompon, Guyot… It is also clear that the artist’s creations are closely related to anatomy and zoology, and he has done meticulous research on animal art. And yet all these do not quite explain the instantly recognizable quality in Daviau’s animal sculptures — sensitive, strong and original, with pure lines and composed elegance. Perhaps we can find some answers in the technical aspects as well as the works themselves.

Unique Vision and Unrivalled Skills

One can easily tell the pure love the artist has for his models, but it is often neglected that the expression and gesture of the animals are not from the “beasts” themselves, but from the artist’s vision. Daviau has drawn inspiration from animals that are rarely sculpted, such as Platypus (2011), Lemur and Its Children (2001), Tamarin (1999), etc., and he uses his signature style to integrate the body shapes of different animals and translates his languages into a gentle and witty expression. For example, he intends to give the Hippopotamus a sweet, gentle, well-intentioned appearance that children want to embrace, while the Rhinoceros (1993) appears warrior-like with his eyes firmly glaring at his possible annihilation. American Buffalo (1995) and Canadian Moose (1997) are shown in steadfast and fearless poses, ready to challenge at any time as they face daily threats from both nature and humans. He only takes interests in popular animals when he discovers a gesture rarely expressed in the existing versions or he was compelled by the urge to do so, which was the case for Big Lola (2014), a chubby cat with a serious look and an amusing sitting pose.

In 2010, Daviau expanded his body of work with life-size monumental sculptures—the first piece was commissioned by one of Daviau’s collectors—attracting widespread attention from cultural foundations, the public domain, and private collections. Among them, Rhinoceros (2010) was exhibited at Xintiandi, Shanghai, while Canadian Moose (2015) was showcased at the Statue Square, Hong Kong, and Giraffe (2013) won the ‘Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts’ gold medal. A few editions of the monumental sculptures have already found their permanent home in China, including Xiyunlou in Shanghai and Deji Plaza in Nanjing.

As a graduate of sculpture, Daviau once worked as an assistant to the French sculptor Haïm Kern, and practiced at the top bronze foundry in France. He is one of the few contemporary artists who understands and masters all the techniques of bronze sculpture fabrication. For Daviau, bronze is a noble material with thousands of years of casting history. It can give a piece of work the appreciation beyond its own value. It is particularly worth mentioning that Daviau is also one of the very few who have mastered the "patina" technique—the skill of distressing a thin layer that variously forms on the surface of the bronze. He tailor-made the patina of each piece so that each edition became unique. “The exceptional sophistication of patina has made him unrivalled, at a time when the finishing details and the aesthetics of artworks are too often neglected,” as the gallery founder Pierre Dumonteil puts it, “his requirement for the quality of the execution of the limited-edition bronze sculptures shows an infinite respect for his artworks and the collectors.”

A Poetic Universe of Animals

“Daniel Daviau’s animals are curious, peaceful food-lovers, slightly mocking, animals seen often in childhood dreams, smelling of the perfume of far-away if not forgotten lands. They look at you, unafraid, confident in their enduring nature, and each stands its ground according to its character or reputation. Their outlines are strong, clear and stark of any superfluous ornament. French Sculptor Daniel Daviau has defined such a personal and unique approach to the creatures of his planet that one already can recognize those belonging to ‘The Daviau’s line’. ”

    —— Jacques-Philippe Wapler, curator of the Edouard and Maurice Sandoz Foundation

Needless to say, Daviau is attentive to the equilibrium of the planet and his sculptures emphasize on the relationship between nature and human, however, in the artist's opinion, if his work can arouse people's respect for animals and nature, he feels very happy, but this is not his primary mission. He is just doing what he wants to do most. And yet his works are surely powerful testimonies, expressing tenderness and complicity; they remind us of the connections established between humans and animals — not only do we share the same planet, but also our “souls”.
press