克莱蒙·博德理 & 凯特·洛瑞
缺席的双眼

21 四月 - 19 五月 2018
中国上海
杜梦堂将于2018年4月21日至5月19日期间,荣幸在上海举办展览克莱蒙·博德理Clément Borderie与凯特·洛瑞Cat Loray:缺席的双眼。

凯特·洛瑞和克莱蒙·博德理风格相异,又互为补充,将吸引我们去发现他们各自驯服空间/时间的方式。这场惊艳的展览将首度在画廊的上海空间里展演。两位艺术家的作品交相辉映,将证明着二者之间犹如渐近线一般的相似性。

克莱蒙·博德理(生于1960年法国)创作的装置作品,类似于雕塑和绘画艺术。他在自然环境里安置了形状和尺寸各异的金属框架,并在架子上撑起画布。他使环境作用于画布,留下时间和季节的足迹。由此,这些空白画布便成为了实验创作的场域。克莱蒙·博德理想捕获一个场所的本质,创造它的时空身份证,并揭示那些通常逃脱于我们感知的、难以察觉的事物。

凯特·洛瑞(生于1962年法国)通过在多变的载体上尝试不同的材质与造型,描绘她所雕塑的,同时,雕刻她所绘制的。很明显,她的作品致力于捕捉有机世界的本质。她在大片的白色区域上,通过半形象、半抽象的几何图形,非常自由地重塑她周遭的物件和事物。

无论是克莱蒙·博德理的画布、他的盐石,或是凯特·洛瑞的装置,它们所呈现的厚重性,折射出了两位艺术家对“本真”的探索与渴望,一种关于“诞生生命”的作品,它也关系到空间,关系到时间,关系到作品内在的时空,关系到那些既连贯又对立、时而彼此矛盾的元素之间的相互作用力。这关系到如何“维系”共存关系:唯有当能量状态达到平衡阶段时,“共存”才能发生作用,这种平衡源于两位艺术家对自己位置的确认。
视频
媒体报道
June, 2018
+ Action Media - 艺术家访谈
May, 2018
+ Artron - 克莱蒙·博德理与凯特·洛瑞在沪演绎“缺席的双眼”
May, 2018
+ Hertz - 这对艺术家夫妇真的在用“生命”创作
April, 2018
+ French Culture - 缺席的双眼:克莱蒙·博德理Clément Borderie和凯特·洛瑞Cat Loray

Clément Borderie & Cat Loray
What if there was a way to see with our eyes shut…

21 April - 19 May 2018
Shanghai, China
Galerie Dumonteil is very pleased to present the exhibition Cat Loray & Clément Borderie - What if there was a way to see with our eyes shut... in Shanghai from April 21 to May 19, 2018.

Complementing each other through their differences, Cat Loray and Clément Borderie let us discover their respective ways of taming space and/or time through their works. An exhibition filled with surprises, this new program unfolds in the Gallery’s space in Shanghai for the first time. The bringing together of works by Cat Loray and Clément Borderie confronts us with an evidence which proves the passage of something essential through the exhibited objects in a kind of quasi-asymptotic affinity.

Clément Borderie (b.1960, France)creates installations that are akin to the art of sculpture and painting. In nature, he installs metal structures of various shapes and sizes, on which he stretches canvases. In this type of setup, he lets the canvases react with the elements which result in unique patterns and markings over the passage of time and the transition of seasons. Thenceforth, these blank canvases become a space for experimental creation. Clément Borderie wants to capture the essence of a place, create its spatio-temporal identity card, and reveal what is imperceptible, in other words, those minute details which ordinarily escape us.

Cat Loray (b. 1962, France) paints what she sculpts and sculpts what she paints. Expressing her artistic vision by using a wide range of materials, she clearly refers herself to the organic world from which she captures its essence through a variety of mediums and varying artistic formats. Through geometric forms that are half-figurative and half-abstract, she freely reinvents the objects and the items that surround her through large uniform areas of white.

What one perceives through the weight of Clément Borderie's paintings, the salt stones of Clément Borderie and the drawings, paintings, and sculptures of Cat Loray is the same approach to the portrayal of Reality. In other words, through the forces at play between sometimes contradictory elements that are simultaneously coherent and antagonistic, one observes an enterprise through which the two artists “Produce Life” with space, time and the spacetime of the artworks. This "bonding" is only present when the state of energy reaches the stage of equilibrium, a crucial state that the two artists have to identify.
VIDEO