迭戈·贾科梅蒂
GIACOMETTI Diego

作品

艺术家生平

迭戈·贾科梅蒂 (Diego Giacometti, 1902-1985)是一位瑞士雕塑家与设计师,也是阿尔伯托·贾科梅蒂(Alberto Giacometti)的弟弟。艺术家对动物王国的奇思妙想与他童年生活的神秘与梦幻有着紧密的关系,他最早在1935年开始运用动物形象进行创作。艺术家在瑞士阿尔卑斯山区的家庭农场的生活给予了他丰富的创作灵感,他将周围农庄中的猫、狗、马的日常生活形态与山中的猫头鹰,鹿和狼的野性元素结合起来,编织出了梦幻般的青铜世界。

艺术家用黏土为他的动物形象塑形,之后用截然不同的材质青铜铸造,他的作品总是以诙谐的戏剧的场景呈现,为观众留下浮想的空间。艺术家作品中抽象的元素同样暗含着自然的成分,例如,横杆的连接可以具有藤蔓般的质感,并且他家具的结构部件通常具有奇妙的有机表面纹理。

在一次巴特斯亚·德·博维(Patricia de Beauvais)对迭戈·贾科梅蒂的采访中,艺术家解释了《朋友间的漫步》这件作品为什么原先是在一个边桌上的造型:“这件作品是为一个客人做的,他以动物权益为由举办了一次拍卖会,考虑到这个缘由,我在《朋友间的漫步》中加入了一匹马与三只狗,其中一只在‘浇’树,另一只在后面嗅着。有一个客人要求我去掉它,她不喜欢,但这是狗的日常行为,我告诉她。”

GIACOMETTI Diego

ARTWORKS

BIOGRAPHY

Diego Giacometti (15 November 1902 – 15 July 1985) was a Swiss sculptor and designer, and the younger brother of the sculptor Alberto Giacometti. The artist's whimsy about the animal kingdom is closely tied to the mystery and dream of his childhood. Diego Giacometti first began using animal imagery in his work around 1935, perhaps deeply influenced by his upbringing on the family farm in the rugged, alpine region of Bregaglia in Switzerland. Gradually the artist combined the daily life images of the cats, dogs and horses on the farms with the wilder elements of owls, deers and wolves in the mountains, weaving a bronze world of fantasy.

The artist used clay to shape his animal image, and then cast it with bronze. His work was always presented in a witty drama scenario, leaving the audience with room for imaginations and fantasies. The abstract elements of the artist's work also implies natural components, for example, the joins of crossbars can have a vine-like texture, while the structural components of his furniture usually have a wonderfully organic surface texture.

In an interview with Patricia de Beauvais, the artist explained the origin of Promenade des amis and the reason why the work is presented in a form for a console table: "It was for a client who organized charity auctions to promote animal rights. So considering this, I added a horse with three little dogs, one of which is ‘watering’ the tree, the other who sniffs him. I had one client ask me to remove it. It bothered her, but they are dogs and this is what they do, I told her.”