约瑟夫·萨基
CSAKY Joseph

作品

艺术家生平

约瑟夫 · 亚历山大 · 萨基 (1888-1971) 生于匈牙利的塞格德 (Szeged)。14岁时他就进入布达佩斯装饰艺术高等学校学习。但是他不羁的性格让他很快离开了那里, 和他的朋友古斯塔夫 · 米克罗斯 (Gusztav Miklos) 一起到建筑工地学习直接切削石材的工艺。

萨基在艺术上不断追求完美, 十分崇拜罗丹的作品。他于1908 年夏移居巴黎, 次年入住 “ 拉胥石 ” (La Ruche) 艺术家村。 一段时期里, 米克罗斯 (Miklos) 和阿尔西品科 (Archipenko) 也先后住在这里。

凭借作品《女人头像》, 他的雕塑才华最早在1910年国家艺术协会沙龙展上崭露头角。从学院的表现手法角度来看, 这个作品表现出他对线条简洁、立体主义风格突出的轮廓的偏好。

萨基是一个多产的艺术家, 他于1912年参加了马塞尔 · 杜尚 (Marcel Duchamp) 主持的第一届 “ 金色片段 ” 沙龙展 (Salon de la Section d’Or), 同时参展的大艺术家有布朗库西 (Brancusi)、莱热 (Léger)、毕卡比亚 (Picabia)。

1914年到1919年间, 年轻的匈牙利艺术家加入法国军队, 复员后与立体主义的保护人雷翁斯 · 罗森伯格 (Léonce Rosenberg) 元帅签订了一份独家代理协议。罗森伯格此时已经在他身上看到了现代雕塑先驱的影子。

萨基重视空间的形式和几何构造, 他的画稿强劲有力, 依照这些创作的雕塑和建筑浮雕颇具刻板严峻的古代风范。他偏爱创作女性和人物侧影。他认为艺术家的目光直接表达了美感之中深邃和精神的一面, 他重新表现了创作对象的曲线与棱角, 甚至创造出一种神秘的形式。

自1923年起, 已经形成个人独特风格的萨基开始发掘动物主题。野兽、鸟、鱼、狍子或者雄鹿在他的刻刀下成为即灵动又有力的生物。他对雕刻材料的敏锐感觉让他的动物雕塑体态明晰、线条细腻, 人们最终看到的只有动物身上原有的力量。

1926年, 他以动物为题材的创作阶段方兴未艾。他于当年完成了名为《雄鹿》的白大理石雕塑作品, 从中我们可以充分看出他的雕塑才华。作品表现的是雄鹿的侧面形象, 不同的部位有的圆满有的镂空, 底座配有建筑装饰元素, 使整个作品具有装饰艺术的风格。石材的有力及虹色光芒增强了动物原本的自然优雅。萨基以其精湛的技巧, 将这些特点都融入一种凝炼又不失动感的动态之中。

这一时期, 萨基与装饰艺术家马塞尔 · 考阿尔 (Marcel Coard, 又译马塞尔 · 柯尔德) 相遇, 这使他在创作上发生转型。他与考阿尔共同设计家具, 并为它们创作雕刻装饰品。1928年起一直到晚年, 萨基雕塑作品的曲线变得愈加柔和且富于感官享受。他的艺术表达方式更加的感性而不再是单纯的表现对象。

1930年, 萨基作为创始成员参与了首届现代艺术家联盟展 (U.A.M), 同时参展的还有马尔泰勒 (Martel) 兄弟、夏洛特 – 贝里安 (Charlotte Perriand) 以及索尼亚 · 德劳内 (Sonia Delaunay)。
1937年, 他受邀参与巴黎国际艺术与工艺展, 并为雅致馆涉及纪念作品, 同时为现代艺术家联盟馆设计馆前广场。

在他人生的最后十五年, 萨基受法国政府委托创作了一些作品, 比如亚眠男女混合学校的浮雕, 和《穿衣人像》的青铜版本, 该作品后来被国家收藏。
雕塑家最后的创作是为布达佩斯一处建筑设计装饰立面的雕塑《古希腊九位缪斯女神》, 遗憾的是这个设计最终未能实现。

相比于同时代的艺术家, 约瑟夫 · 萨基的作品长期以来没有享有显赫的声名; 时至今日,  世界各地的大博物馆都藏有他的作品, 比如在法国现代艺术博物馆 - 蓬皮杜文化中心, 人们就能看到他著名的《立体主义头像》。

相关展览

2018.09.22 – 2018.10.12
法国巴黎
2018.06.20 – 2018.08.30
美国纽约

ARTWORKS

BIOGRAPHY

Born in Szeged Hungary, Jozsef Alexandre CSAKY (1888-1971) was enrolled at the ‘Ecole Supérieure des Arts décoratifs’ of Budapest by the age of fourteen. Despite his talent and successes, his independent nature urges him to quit the school’s academic training in order to learn the ‘stone direct-cut’ technic on construction sites with his friend Gusztav Miklos.

Csaky had always aimed for perfection and was a huge admirer of Rodin’s work. Thus he moved to Paris over the summer of 1908 and settled at ‘La Ruche’ the following year, later on joined by Miklos and then Archipenko.

Csaky’s talent as a sculptor is brought to light for the first time during the 'Salon de la Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts’ of 1910. His sculpture of a “Woman’s Head” whose academic features highlight his taste for cubistic and pure profile portraits, catches the attention of the critics at the salon.
In 1912, Csaky under the patronage of Marcel Duchamp, participated at the first ‘Salon de la Section d’Or’, alongside major artists such as Brancusi, Léger and Picabia.

Between 1914 and 1919, Csaky joined the French army and signed upon his return an exclusive contract with the great art dealer Léonce Rosenberg, an avid supporter of cubism who saw Csaky as a pioneer of modern sculpture. Concerned by spatial geometry and the meaning of shape, Csaky transformed his powerful drawings into architectural sculptures and bas-reliefs with antic and almost rigid accents.

The feminine subject and the human figure were then mainly his favourite themes. Convinced by the idea that the artist’s eye was the direct expression of beauty in its most profound and spiritual meaning, he reinterpreted the curves and angles of his creations through breathing mystery into them. The critics as well as the art collectors of the time received his artworks with great interest.

As of 1923, Csaky was now defined by a singular artistic identity. He started to explore the theme of Animal representation: big cats, birds, fishes and stags became, under his stylus, creatures that were light as well as powerful. His talent as a sculptor, who naturally was sympathetic to the material he worked with, resulted in a bestiary of pure and fine lines which implicated a cubist’s brute force.

In 1926, during his animalier period, Csaky produced a “Stag” in white marble, the work serves as an excellent representation of the extent of his talent. Presented from the side, with solids and voids, it lies on a base structured with ornamental elements in the Art Deco style. The strength of the stone as well as it’s shine underline the natural elegance of the animal, whilst the craftsmanship successfully captures the dynamism of the stag in a fixed moment.

Towards the end of the 1920’s, an encounter with Marcel Coard, a renowned interior designer, marked a new turning point within the Csaky’s Work. He then started creating sculpted ornaments for furniture products in collaboration with other artists. Starting in 1928 all through until the end of his artistic career, the curves of his sculptures were gradually getting smoother and more sensual. The expression of his artistic interpretation becomes subtler and less figurative.

In 1930, Csaky participated, as a founding member, in the first ‘Union des Artistes Modernes’ (U.A.M) exhibition with the likes of the Martel brothers, Charlotte Perriand and Sonia Delaunay.
In 1937, he was commissioned to design monumental pieces for the ‘Pavillon de l’Elégance' as well as the terrace of the ‘Pavillon de l’U.A.M’, on the occasion of the international expo for art and technology hosted in Paris.

Joseph Csaky’s artworks, less recognised than his contemporaries for a long time, are nowadays exhibited in the major museums around the world, his “Tête Cubiste” can be admired at the ‘Musée National d’Art Moderne’ in Paris.

EXHIBITIONS

2018.09.22 – 2018.10.12
Galerie Dumonteil Paris
2018.06.20 – 2018.08.30
New York, USA

PUBLICATIONS

No publication found