伦勃朗·布加迪
BUGATTI Rembrandt

作品
艺术家生平
相关展览

作品

艺术家生平

伦勃朗 · 布加迪 (1884-1916) 生于米兰。他的父亲是装饰师卡尔洛 · 布加迪, 哥哥是布加迪汽车品牌创始人埃托尔 · 布加迪。 12 岁时, 他已经在雕刻木头和金属, 随后在与家人在意大利山间旅行期间完成了最初的作品。这些作品取材于他在路上碰见奶牛一类的动物时用橡皮泥捏成的样品。1901 年, 他的青铜雕塑在格鲁毕奇画廊 (Galerie Grubicy) 首次亮相。

两年后, 布加迪一家定居巴黎, 住在植物园附近。伦勃朗 · 布加迪没有受过任何传统意义上的学术训练, 但对动物的热情驱使他到植物园内的动物园里尽情地观察各种野生动物, 研究它们的体态结构, 然后以自己独有的敏锐和现实主义手法将这些动物表现出来。他更喜欢用手自由地揉捏而不是绘制素描草稿。

1904年, 埃布哈尔铸造厂创始人阿德里安 · 奥尔连 · 埃布哈尔(Adrien Aurélien Hébrard)为了给自己位于巴黎罗亚尔街的画廊揭幕, 选择展出了布加迪的一些作品。这次展览获得了巨大成功, 雕塑家的感受力和现实主义风格获得了当时评论家的好评。

1906年起, 伦勃朗 · 布加迪在法国、德国和比利时旅行。在比利时期间, 他频繁造访安特卫普动物园, 就是在那里他获得灵感创作了著名的《亚洲象》。这批作品于 1908 年在埃布哈尔画廊举行的一次展览中展出, 随后又出现在其他巴黎举行的沙龙展上。他在动物园里的观察还催生出其他系列的野生动物作品, 比如羚羊、长颈鹿、熊和犀牛,他用极大的热情为雕塑注入力量与活力。

艺术家持续大量地创作直到1911年,埃布哈尔画廊为其举办了题为《百件雕塑》的回顾展。

但是一战的爆发使他的创作进程猝然中断。世界的混乱给他造成了难以弥合的创伤, 让他感到深深的绝望。最终, 伦勃朗 · 布加迪再也无法重新开始自己的雕塑事业,他于1916年 1月在蒙帕纳斯的工作室内结束了自己的生命。

伦勃朗 · 布加迪是那个辉煌壮阔的时代极具代表性的雕塑家,他的作品反映了传统雕塑向现代的过渡。他和蓬朋共同为动物雕塑的创新开辟了道路。

相关展览

2018.06.20 – 2018.08.30
美国纽约

ARTWORKS

BIOGRAPHY

Born in Milan, Rembrandt BUGATTI (1884-1916) was the son of the designer Carlo Bugatti and brother of Ettore Bugatti. At the age 12, he was already familiar with wood and metal work. He created his first artworks during family travels in the Italian Mountains; inspired by the animals he encountered, he modelled the likes of cattle and other livestock using plasticine. In 1901, his bronze sculptures were displayed for the first time at the ‘Galerie Grubicy’.

Two years later, Bugatti’s family settled in Paris, close to the Jardin des Plantes. Despite never having any academic training, Rembrandt Buggatti fulfilled his passion for wildlife by contemplating the wild animals of the menagerie and studying their anatomy. Buggati would then translate his insights into material with a sensitivity and realism of its own, he would prefer hand-free modelling and creating without preparatory sketches.

In 1904, Adrien Aurélien Hébrard, founder of the Hébrard Foundry, chose the Buggati’s works for the opening of his Parisian gallery, ‘rue Royale’. The exhibition was accredited with great success amongst critics of the time who praised his sensibility and realism.

As of 1906, Rembrandt Bugatti travelled between France, Germany and Belgium where he frequently visited the zoological park of Anvers. It was here where he found the inspiration for his famous “Asian Elephants”, Bugatti’s Elephants were displayed during an exhibition in the Hébrard Gallery in 1908 as well as in the Parisian Salons.

From his observations at the zoological park grew also Buggati’s fascination with exotic beasts; such as kudu, giraffes, bears as well as rhino. He carved his material sharply, injecting power and vitality to his subjects.
Bugatti’s work is so prolific that in 1911, the Hébrard Gallery organised a retrospective exhibition in honour of him titled “100 sculptures”.

However, the First World War interrupted his artistic growth. In fact, deeply traumatised by the global chaos and the distress he felt, Rembrandt Bugatti, could not continue modelling, thus deciding to end his life at his studio in Montparnasse in January 1916.

Rembrandt Buggati is an emblematic sculptor of his thrilling, and great era, his works represent the transition between classic and modern sculpture. He is one the founding fathers alongside Pompon in respects to the renewal of Animal representation’s within sculpture. 

EXHIBITIONS

2018.06.20 – 2018.08.30
New York, USA

PUBLICATIONS

No publication found